CERVIS is set up so that you should not need to delete opportunities on a regular basis as there is no limit to the number of opportunities that you can create within CERVIS. Additionally, once the end time of an opportunity has passed, the system will automatically close (or archive) it - which means you will not automatically see it unless you search for it. Cancelling an opportunity or creating one by mistake are the most likely reasons for deleting an opportunity, but you should not need to do so frequently.
You can only delete an opportunity within CERVIS if there are no registrations associated with it. If there are registrations associated with the opportunity, you must remove them or transpose them to another opportunity before you can delete the original. Note that when you unregister volunteers from the admin side of CERVIS they will not be automatically notified, so you will need to let them know if the opportunity has been canceled.
Once your opportunity has no registrations associated with it, follow the steps below to delete the opportunity:
- Login to your CERVIS Account.
- Click on “Search / Manage Existing Opportunities” under the “Opportunity Management” section of the Main Dashboard.
- Locate the opportunity that you would like to delete and click on the leftmost icon next to the opportunity name to “Manage Opportunity” ().
- Scroll to the bottom of the page and click “Delete Opportunity from CERVIS”.
- To confirm that you want to delete the opportunity, click “Yes, Proceed with Delete” or you can cancel the action by clicking “No, Cancel and Return”.
Note: This is a permanent action. Once an opportunity has been deleted, you cannot recover it. Due to this, only users with Administrator level access have permission to delete opportunities.