What happens if a volunteer signs in for their shift using the Sign-in Console or Mobile Sign-in, but forgets to sign out when they are finished?
There can be different results when a volunteer does not sign out depending on whether the opportunity is an Event (Normal, Custom, or Time Slot) or a Service Project.
When a volunteer registers for an Event, they will automatically receive the credit hours that you set for that Event. So if a volunteer signs in but forgets to sign out, they will still receive the default number of hours for that Event.
On the other hand, there is not a default number of hours assigned to a Service Project. Therefore, if a volunteer does not sign out for a Service Project, the system will leave them signed in until they are manually signed out.
However, there is an exception to this if you configure the ‘Enable Sign-in Console "Automatic Sign-out"’ option for your system. This setting allows you to assign a default number of credit hours for your entire console. When enabled, the system will sign out any volunteers that are still signed in for any Service Projects at the end of the day and assign them the number of hours you define. This setting is located in the System Settings section of the System Configuration, and can be configured in half-hour increments up to 8.5 hours.