I need to make it so that a particular volunteer can no longer register for events. I see there are three options under CERVIS Account Status on their profile: Unlocked, Locked, or Disabled. What is the difference between these options?
The “Locked” and “Unlocked” options are used by the system to prevent password guessing attacks against a user's profile. Most of the time, a volunteer’s account will be “Unlocked”. An account will become “Locked” when a volunteer has more than 4 consecutive failed login attempts against their account. When this occurs, a volunteer will not be able to login and register for events until they request an automatic password reset using the “Don’t Know Password / Reset Password” link on the login page, or until an administrator manually unlocks their account. Volunteers with “Locked” accounts will receive email messages from the system just the same as unlocked accounts.
The “Disabled” option allows administrators to permanently lock a volunteer out of using their account. When you set this field to “Disabled”, a volunteer will not be able to sign in to their account nor will they be able to self-register online for any available opportunities. Volunteers with disabled accounts will not receive any mass emails sent through your system. This should only be used in very specific instances where you have a volunteer that you no longer want to have access to the system.